Absegami High School “Our Town”

Absegami High School's "Our Town"
Absegami High School’s “Our Town”

The Absegami High School Emanon Players did it again, with their presentation of Thornton Wilder’s classic play “Our Town” presented on Friday, November 20th and Saturday, November 21st at the Absegami High School Performing Arts Center. Described by playwright Edward Albee as the “greatest American play ever written,” the story relates happenings in the small town of Grover’s Corners. Narrated and performed with minimal props and sets, the play was divided into three acts, “Daily Life,” “Love and Marriage” and “Death and Eternity.” Audiences follow the Webb and Gibbs families as the children fall in love, marry, and eventually in one of the most famous scenes in American theater die.

The production was presented under the direction of Absegami drama director Chip Garrison and Assumption Regional Catholic School English teacher Tom Schurtz, formerly a teacher at Absegami. The two men also directed the play 25 years ago. “This production is dedicated to the cast and crew of that production all those years ago,” Garrison said. “The play resonates with so many people because of the message of the play, namely that we should stop to appreciate every moment of every day in this life,” he said. “It goes by far too quickly. We can’t believe 25 years have gone by since we first did the play.”

The Absegami High School Emanon Players performance was simply superb. Playing the leading role of the Stage Manager (narrator) is senior Saverio Turrano. Featured roles include senior Zach Hassel as George Gibbs and junior Lexi Patterson as Emily Webb, along with C.J. Coyle, Natalie Frantz, Miranda Muniz and Michael Moore. Other cast members include Brandi Aldridge, Coby Alvarez, Francesca Bishop, Abby Cohen, Rachel Cohen, Cierra Davis, Michelle Delemarre, Claire Dell-Priscoli, Elizabeth Dimmerman, Isabelle Ewell, Brianna Gargione, Rebecca Hennessy, Daniel Hershman, Courtney Jones, Raynah Katzen, Kathleen Koschorreck, Victoria Kreutzer, Sarah LePine, John Lopez, Spencer Lyons, Bart Machula, Rick Mangold, Lynnette Marmolejos, Nicole Marmolejos, Kimberly Nagales, Andrew Ngo, Jeff Palermo, Billy Platt, Jacklyn Polisano, Emily Quisenberry, Andrea Rapetti, Ebba Rivera, Julie Samuels, Julian Simon, Chloe Verderber and Victoria Williams.



Leave a Reply